History of the River

The story of the riverside is a fascinating one. Mike Royden’s Local History Pages is a website well worth visiting to learn about the history of Otterspool. Construction of the Otterspool Promedade wall started in September 1929 and was completed in 1932. The Riverside Promenade was opened to the public on the 7th of July 1950 (Old Photos copyright Liverpool Record Office, Liverpool Libraries). A theme that seems to run through the history of the area is that of great ideas, many of which never see the light of day. Here is a sketch of the completed Promenade at...

Read More